Straight Thuggin’?

So, after somewhat of an eventful evening at the bar I’ve decided that the phrase “Straight Thuggin” shall no longer be used to proclaim how “Hard” I am. When I think “Thug”, the image that comes to mind is usually something similar to the one to the left. And just to be clear, this is the very first image that a goog search on the phrase Straight Thuggin’ produced. It was also the only one of its kind out of the first 15 pages I combed through.

Note: The above image linked to a website called Thuglaws.com which features categories including Code of Thug Life, Thug Dress Code and my personal favorite, How to tell if you a snitch. The link for the website is listed below for your viewing pleasure.

Exhibit A)

 http://tinyurl.com/5skqatz

My intention was to come home and write a quick lil blog post about the shooting that occurred outside of the unquestionably low-key and predominantly white middle class bar that I work at.

Obviously this is not the post you will be reading. Instead I’m writing about how I can’t possibly associate the phrase that I once held so dear to my faux gangsta heart with the previous meaning. Why? Well, I did a goog search on the term “Straight Thuggin” to find a suitable image to illustrate my “Hardness” and was shocked to find how far from reality my perception is. So far in fact that it called to mind the character B-Rad from the movie Malibu’s Most wanted.

B-Rad: Let me kick a freestyle for you right now SHRINK SHRINK BLINKTEY BLINK TRY TO MAKE ME THINK MAKE ME WANA GO TO MY SINK AND VOMIT THEN CLEAN IT UP WITH COMET EARTH IS MY PLONET. See, I’m the shizznitt

Below is a link to the video clip from the movie. Its hilarious.

http://www.spike.com/video/malibus-most-wanted/2462564

The rest of the results where as follows:

Exhibit B)

A goog image search yielded 15 pages of nerdy teenage white kids. I’ve added a couple of images from that search.  

 http://tinyurl.com/4ja2rxa

.

.

Exhibit C)  

 http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=straight%20thuggin

straight thuggin  
 
Fresh without a doubt. Unquestionable ballin. Just plain awesome.
Dude your whole outfit matches. You are so straight thuggin right now.

Is it just me or does the Urban dictionary definition reminiscent of The Fresh Prince of Bellaire, which was anything but Straight Thuggin’.  

Exhibit D)

http://tiny.cc/lp85s

 I assure you, the music 2 Bit Thugs is anything but Thuggish. However, I’ve added the link for you to decide for yourself.

http://squeegiesounds.com/2009/05/straight-thuggin/

You be the judge.

Leave a Reply

