You’ve changed so much I almost don’t recognize you anymore.

image

My repsonse to him, after I realized he would never take responsibility for the pain and destruction he caused… also when I realized I was talking to a complete stranger. My husband of 10 years exists only in my memory.

Me: You denying the truth is expected but is also the worst thing you could ever do. It invalidates the pain you’ve caused to the people who loved you the most. I’m aware that the man I married and loved is no longer part of you, your being, your soul. You’re merely an empty, cold shell of the heart and soul that used to reside there. I will no longer seek an apology from you because you (my husband) are gone. Unfortunately, it also leaves you without the one chance to heal a wound in someone you once called your best friend and love. Your continued denial is hurtful as much as it is alarming. We (the victims) will get a form of justice but we will never get the one thing we long for…. ourselves back.

He failed to reply to this. This is very likely the last conversation of our relationship. How sad things end that started out so beautifully.

The picture is one taken of my husband after “April” and serves as a reminder of how different (to me) he looks. Its almost like going to a viewing to pay your last respects to a loved one. Even though you recognize the individual in front of you, they don’t look like the person you once loved. Its a deadness, a hollowness, a shell of a person deficient in spirit.

Leave a Reply

